Just Another White Girl

Anyone that knows me/reads this blog (yay I have readers!), knows that I am a major Zumba advocate. And major is putting it lightly…

My mom and I belong to a Zumba studio in the state, which we started to go to back in January. For the most part, we love all of the instructors and their routines. But, this month, mom decided she is not renewing her monthly membership to the studio, but will just pay the drop-in rate for the classes she decides to go to (namely, our Friday night toning class). After our class on Sunday (that we took Leah to. Yay!), I realized she was on to something… I love my Zumba, but I am not a fan of African Street Dancing. I just can’t turn my legs in, I’m white what do you expect? πŸ™‚ lol.

So, on Monday night, we went toΒ a fitness club that was much closer to us than the studio to try out a new instructor. Is it bad that the instructor recognized me from a Zumbathon back in February? No? I didn’t think so either. Actually, I was kinda flattered because I definitely tried not to stand out Zumba-wise back then.

Anyway, I loved this class. It was great. I knew most of her routine, and was able to feel comfortable doing Beyonce’s Move Your Body since she had a white-girl move to her too. And so charismatic. Like wow.

The cool thing about this club is you can buy passes (10 passes for $60), and it gets you into the WHOLE club not just the Zumba class. Meaning… I can go for a day for $6, do some weights on the machine, get a Zumba class in, and then go try my hand at the beginner pole dancing class right next door to the Zumba room. Or I could go run on the treadmill and follow it with some laps in the pool. Win. Epic win.

Now, I just need to get through two more weeks at the studio (shame to say that really, because I love love love the instructors there and was hoping to join them) so that I can use up my monthly pass and then go to the fitness club. Though, I am also paying like $20 a month to go to a gym in the area too – which I haven’t been to in a few weeks, shame on me. I really should change that fact, maybe after school tomorrow night I’ll go up there.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Slim Em
    May 25, 2011 @ 18:33:32

    You are hilarious. I am such a white girl also. I feel awkward in those dance classes. I am trained in ballet for 13 years. I wish there was a ballet weight loss class at a gym. That would be sweet. All this gym talk makes me realize I need to go to the gym. I just don’t feel confident enough…sad I know!

    Reply

    • kortni24
      May 25, 2011 @ 18:37:50

      I use to feel maddd awkward in Zumba, especially because of the big mirror in front of me. But, then I realized that no one was watching me but myself (oh how that will change once I become an instructor… crap!), and I just kinda started to enjoy it for what it was. Fun!

      But, in the past few weeks, two of the instructors have been bringing in more moves that THEY can do and we couldn’t. Like, our one instructor is a huge bellydance fan (gag), but she doesn’t teach how to bellydance to those (like me) who can’t at all. And then the one with the African dance has a thing that he likes to turn his knees in a lot… it’s the worst thing to try to do ever! lol.

      Yeah, I need that gym badly right now. I find that if you put the right music on while there, you kinda get lost in your thoughts and forget about everyone else.

      Reply

  2. Colline
    May 25, 2011 @ 19:00:06

    Reading your posts is giving me the itch to try out Zumba – I love moving to music!

    Reply

  3. 14 Semanas
    May 28, 2011 @ 23:27:19

    I am so excited that I found your blog!! I am obsessed obsessed obsessed with Zumba and I can’t believe you’re getting aiming to be an instructor- that is so awesome! Good luck on your Zumba training and I’ll definitely be keeping up with your progress πŸ™‚ I’m on my own weight loss journey as well right now and I’m so glad that I found someone doing Zumba to help them as well!

    Reply

    • kortni24
      May 31, 2011 @ 13:12:06

      I love finding people just as in love with Zumba as I am!!!! I’m mad excited about this Friday… it’s going to be great, amazing, and SCARY at the same time haha. Good luck on your journey as well!!!! πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

