My First 5k

Rachel and me before the start!

This morning, Rachel and I did our first 5k. And it felt GREAT, wow.

We walked most of the course… neither of us are in shape at all and, with the exception of the treadmill, aren’t really runners. But it was for a great cause, so we decided to just go and see what we could do. 

Jogging wise, we made it through about a mile of the course. A mile. Take that weight that will be coming off of this body! HA. There ended up being roughly about 300 people there today for the run/walk. Overall, we ended at 161 and 162 of the whole group (20 and 21st for women between 18 and 29 though), with a time of 51:35. 

Rachel’s time was 51:35.5

Mine was 51:35.6

I think the shortest time there was about 20 minutes… I wish I could do that! I doubt I would be able to get to that speed anytime soon, so how about a goal of just being able to run the full 5k straight? lol. We’re hoping to cut a minute off of our mile time on the next 5k, so we’ll see how we end up doing with that! (I had a 16:30 minute mile pace for my first time today) 

Ok, yes, short update, but I do have homework to do for a bit today and some stuff around the house that we need to finish (clean the bathroom for instance) before Dan and Eric get here for our cookout/pool party/hang around the fire thing tonight!

away we go!!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thescalesdontlie
    May 29, 2011 @ 04:33:24

    Congrats ladies, great job 🙂

    Reply

  2. Bethany
    May 29, 2011 @ 14:13:51

    So proud of you!!! Great job!!! ❤

    Reply

  3. Emily
    May 31, 2011 @ 00:49:59

    Yay for your first 5k! I have never run a marathon before, but it is something I have always wanted to do. Way to go!!!

    Reply

  4. kortni24
    May 31, 2011 @ 12:59:36

    Thank you everyone! We were so excited about this, and we have two more planned coming up in the future! 🙂

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Weigh-in Tuesday and c25k Update « Kortni Ann

Leave a Reply

