Zumba, Rocco, and other Updates

48 comments and 870 views so far… seriously, you guys are the best. Seriously.

So… weekend update!!!!!!!!!!!! BECAUSE THIS WEEKEND WAS OH SO AMAZING.

Friday

Today was Zumba day.

We woke up around 5:30 or so in the morning (ouch), and set out around 6… registration was at 8, but since we got lost (thanks gps) and such in Atlantic City area, mom and I managed to get through both registrations and into the training room right at 9am – the listed start of the day.

We got in there without our training materials. Which we are still impatiently waiting for. Honestly, how do you hold a closed, pre-registered training event and run out of the required materials????? It was a mess, and we are having a terrible time trying to remember things without the book now.

Anyway, we had two ZES for our training… Kelly and Maria (pictured ->), whom were both completely wonderful and energetic about their job. It was a great experience getting to learn from/train with them.

Mom and I had SO MUCH fun doing our training on Friday, I wish I could describe what it was actually like, but the best I can do is tell you that I was tired, and we ended up eating a whole bag of cheezits between us throughout that day (ok… ALMOST a whole bag, there was some left). But our energy was up the whole time from working out so much, that I needed it to refuel. I also went through 4 water bottles and a diet peach snapple.

We figured out that about 2500 calories were burned at the training alone… and we ended up eating a good portion of that back in haha. That’s all due to the stop at Chickies and Petes on the way home for dinner (I wanted crabfries…. don’t judge haha).

Certified Zumba Instructor

 But it was all worth it for this right here. I can now officially teach Zumba classes, and am going to go next month to my next training… so that I can teach Zumba classes to kids ages 4 through 12. And then maybe get my toning training done in August? We haven’t decided on that one yet.

It’s a very expensive hobby haha, but it’s one that I enjoy more than anything and I’m able to help others with their journey while working on my own. 🙂

Saturday

I have no pictures for this day, but it was a pretty jam-pack day for me as well. I spent a lot of time doing maid of honor stuff, and then went over to my friend Katie’s house to celebrate her college graduation (so proud!). I also spent a good bit of time out with Dan and Eric, and watched some punk try to coax Eric into a fight… he actually spit on my bro! Like seriously? This is why I don’t like going into the college town for drinks, but oh well.

Sunday

OH MY GOD THIS DAY WAS SO EXCITING. And his name is Rocco. 🙂 I am completely in love right now, like love-at-first-sight love.

No, it’s not a boy… we got a new dog. 🙂 I’m so happy (my poor cat isn’t), and he’s the cutest thing ever. Mom and I took another trip up into New Jersey, without my dad this time, to go pick the little guy up. He is from NYC, and the story is is that he was found abandoned in a warehouse in the Bronx… and we found him through facebook (mom is a “fan” or whatever of these dog rescue pages) right when he was about to be put on the kill list.

my little man

Isn’t he the cutest????? So now, this little guy is ours. He is actually very calm and trained well. I like playing fetch with him 🙂 He actually brings the ball back, unlike our other dog haha.

So, yes, that was my awesome weekend in a nutshell.

Now, onto diet time. I have both a wedding and a shower coming up here shortly, and a certain Feathers is not going to get the satisfaction of being on a high horse. I’m determined to “wow” her, and her sister away. 😉

Starting with my salad today at lunch, and going to Bodypump tonight! Wish me luck!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bethany
    Jun 06, 2011 @ 11:34:41

    Here are my comments by day:

    Friday: YAY FOR BEING CERTIFIED!! You need to come down here and teach me how to have rhythm.

    Saturday: Spitting is nasty and that person should have been beat up.

    Sunday: YAY FOR ROCCO!! He is absolutely the cutest thing ever!! ❤

    Reply

  2. Colline
    Jun 06, 2011 @ 17:57:45

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!!! I would love to hear more about teaching Zumba to kids – is it done through the same place? And through whom did you get your training done?

    Reply

    • kortni24
      Jun 07, 2011 @ 11:30:05

      You have to do all of the training through someone selected by Zumba, sign up through them, everything… and you can’t get to the kids one without going through the basic class and then joining their network. It was a bit of a hassle to get through, but I am so excited for it! Don’t worry, I’ll have that one up here after I get the training done too! 🙂

      Reply

  3. MrsWhiffin aka Angelbunni
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 16:13:25

    Good for you!! Amazing achevement, you are gonna be one slinky lady with all that training!

    How cute is Rocco! More pics please xxx

    Reply

  4. Slim Em
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 00:43:51

    Ahh! Congrats on becoming a Zumba Trainer!! Cute dog! = )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

