Breaking Point

Katie and me at the concert

You know how there’s that moment in your life that, regardless of how your diet was going before, you just snap and decide to give it your all? That breaking point that changes everything? I’ve attempted to diet/exercise/lose weight for years, but I never had the full motivation to back me up with it. Because I hadn’t reached my breaking point.

Well, I’ve had it.

On Saturday, I went to the Kenny Chesney concert in Philly (swoon) with my friend Katie, and we faux-tailgated beforehand (the guy we were with was a buzzkill, so he went off and we stayed in her car chit chatting). We walked around a little through the various lots where groups of people had their tailgates set up – we’re talking blow up pools, beer pong, playing Bocci ball, and alcohol. Lots and lots of alcohol.

But there was something else present at most of these groups: delicious looking guys. The ones you can’t help but stare at – especially when they are sans shirts and ripped and tan. The downside of these amazing guys was they all had drop-dead gorgeous looking girls around them. And they were all happy. It was quite upsetting for the two of us, because we lost all hope in delicious looking guys ever wanting us when they had those girls around.

Right then and there, we both decided that we were going to change it all this summer, and change it forever. I know I’ve been slightly trying with it already (she has too), but now it’s giong on full-force and we’re going to do everything we can to feel healthy. Because for us, we don’t want to be skinny, we just want healthy and happy.

I also managed to get 3 Zumba classes in over the weekend, and had BodyPump again on Monday night (I’m going to miss that class so much when my next block of school starts in two weeks)… and then the trolley didn’t show up after work yesterday, so my coworker and I took a 30 minute walk. Which, starting next week, we are going to do every day, and usually at a jog/run pace.

I also had an interview for a camp counselor spot last night for the beginning of August, and am really hoping I get chosen for it (and that my work will give me a week’s paid vacation for it as well). I feel like it went great, but one can never be too sure about these things… granted, they gave me a nickname last night (and I quote, “Can we please start calling her Max now instead of waiting until we get to camp?”), but I don’t want to jinx myself and be like ‘oh yeah, I got it in the bag.’

As for today, I was going to go to Zumba, but I’m contemplating taking the day off for the sake of homework/finals. I have a final tonight for my reading class (the one that had the Magic Kingdom unit from last week), and then one tomorrow night that I need to write my Walt Disney paper for… and finish my notes for my final as well. UGHHH. Plus, tonight is the Pottermore announcement! 🙂 Yes, I’m a nerd, it’s cool though. Haha.

I just wanted to tell everyone about my little epiphany I had on Saturday, and that I am going full-force now! I should be doing my measurements here in a day or so, so we’ll see how that one goes as well.

 
5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. 14 Semanas
    Jun 22, 2011 @ 12:32:30

    Congrats on the break through 🙂 I totally feel you on your post, except I don’t know if I’ve reached it quite as much as you have yet. On the exercise front, I feel like I’m there, but food and diet-wise I know I’m falling behind. Hopefully I hit my breaking point soon!

    Reply

    • kortni24
      Jun 22, 2011 @ 12:45:55

      The diet part’s always what I have trouble with, but I’m doing my best to be mindful of what I’m eating and doing.

      They had donuts at work today, and instead of eating a full one, I cut off a tiny piece just so I could have some of the sweet taste and then grabbed my yogurt from our fridge. Definitely a first for me!

      Reply

      • 14 Semanas
        Jun 22, 2011 @ 15:40:01

        LOL that’s so ironic because this morning it was a donut that caught me. Oh well, tomorrow is a new day and if I can say no it’ll only make me stronger!

  2. losing2win
    Jun 28, 2011 @ 15:18:48

    Hey Kortni!
    I know exactly what you mean!
    I finally hit my breaking point yesterday and I’m off and running.
    This time I’m taking it all the way to the finish line.

    Congrats on taking just a tiny piece of doughnut btw. I always have trouble with that XD

    -B

    Reply

  3. MrsWhiffin aka Angelbunni
    Jul 03, 2011 @ 06:59:32

    Congrats! Getting that moment is almost like a wall tumbling down and letting you see the light!!

    But remember that you are already a very pretty girl, and that you are just enhancing that! Nobody wants to be with a guy who only wants to be with because of your hot ass 🙂
    Conversations become very limiting 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

