I would love a crystal ball right now

People always say to take whatever you’re passionate about and make a career out of it. I have three passions.

  1. Disney
  2. Science
  3. Children

They’re not in any order, since all three are equal in my heart. But how do you choose between them? Yes, science makes the most money out of the three… but right now I am in school learning how to teach children.

This wasn’t where I started. I started in Genetic Engineering, hoping to go into Forensics with it. That was four years ago. After a series of unfortunate events, I find myself here. In elementary education. It’s not that I failed out of the science classes… I actually had an A in organic chemistry 1, and got a 98% on our first exam that semester.

The problem was, when I went to the school with genetics, it was expensive. And I was told that if I didn’t get a 3.0 (b average), my parents would no longer cosign. I had a 2.98 (still b average) at the end of fall semester my second year. So close, but not close enough. I had brought it up from a 2.6 though (I was proud of myself). So I came home, and went to the local university instead. Egads. The biology classes had no labs with them (I am hands on and love research), and they did genetics with scantrons… and my genetics teacher took two weeks to try to explain an elementary principle, and STILL had it wrong.

I didn’t fair to well in this environment. I came from classes of 30-40 women to a class of over 200 men and women. My chemistry classes kept pairing me with around 5 guys. It was a disaster. I lost my love for science, and dreaded any moment I had to spend there.

So I left and went to education, because children were my second passion.

Here’s my problem: I miss science. A lot. I talk to Jenn all the time about her research, and, while it makes me happy that I still understand and can keep up with her stuff, it upsets me because I want to do it too.

My tentitve solution: Florida. I’ve been trying to work out a way to do all three. I want to move to Florida when I graduate. More of, I will be doing so. First to do the Disney College Program (or hopefully the Internship in the sciences there), and then teach at a local school while I work on a masters either in biology or a more genetics based course at University of Central Florida.

Problem number 2: Getting myself prepared for grad school when I haven’t taken anything past sophomore level undergrad classes. So I’m trying to figure out what to do with that.

 

Any thoughts?

Yes, another non-weightloss blog. I’m out of sorts this week. 🙂 And seeing Daniel tonight..

Leave a Reply

