5 years from now…

Do you remember back in high school, when you would be asked where you saw your life in 5-10 years from a certain point? What did you want to do with your life? Family? Kids? Job?

I hated those questions then, I could never really figure out what those people wanted me to say. So, I always said things like “in school” “in a loving relationship” and such… when I knew in my heart I wanted to be in grad school, and in a long term relationship.

Needless to say, I was way off of where I would be now 5 years ago. Because I am still fighting towards just a plain degree, and I wouldn’t consider Dan and my relationship “loving.” And I definitely would not have guessed that I would be in school for teaching children… I was very set on my science (I still am).

If you would have asked me a little over a week ago where I would see myself in 5 years from now, it would have sounded something like this: “living in Florida, out of grad school and working in the science part of Disney. Potentially single, or maybe engaged/married depending on who I meet between now and then.”

But, I just spent the past week working with some of the most amazing children I’ve ever got the chance to meet. I worked as a counselor for a camp for kids with cancer (it’s called Kay’s Kamp, I’d suggest looking it up, it was an amazing experience). Just 7 days with those kids has me questioning what I want to do with my life – again. I was mainly with 5 girls between 9 and 12, though I got to know a lot of the other kids too, and those 5 girls touched me so deeply that, well… words really can’t explain how they touched me.

I remember being younger, maybe 10 or so, and wanting to find a cure for cancer. I wanted to be a scientist then and to be able to help cure it. Now, I highly doubt that I would have anything to do with a cure, but I would love to be able to help out kids that battle cancer. So, while I still want to go to grad school for molecular biology, I am going to keep kids at my forefront and try to help them as much as I can.

But besides that, I have no idea where to look for 5 years from now. How could I?

Leave a Reply

