First thoughts on… Christmas???

I’ve had 1,690 views since I started this blog back in, what, March? April? Does anyone remember, because I dont…

Anyway, it’s getting closer and closer to everyone’s favorite time of year already (yes, Christmas). I love giving people presents, because I usually manage to find perfect gifts for them, but I had the essence of shopping for those presents. Which is why it’s already on my mind of course (ugh). I feel like I’m completely behind in my shopping… both my parents and Dan have gotten Eric is his present already (I’m a bad sister apparently), and they are PERFECT Eric gifts. Especially Dan’s, which I almost bought for Eric myself and I’m glad I didn’t. I know what I want to do for Dan, I think, well… I’m 99.99% sure of that one at least (depending on if I can afford it, and muster up the courage to do it with him). But my parents, Leah, and Eric are a bit tougher.

Last year, I didn’t even get the guys anything… I didn’t think we were doing gifts (Dan proved me wrong with that when he whipped out a Christmas card with a $25 Applebees gift card though), but this year is definitely different. Especially now that my parents have upped the antie and got Eric a gift already (gah). I mean, I kinda have an idea what I want to get him, it’s a matter of getting it, you know?

I don’t even know what I could do for my parents… I would love to take Mom to see Wicked, but… she has a thing against going into NYC that we can’t seem to get around. Or that would be her birthday/christmas present.

Dad just lives in his nothing box, so it’s hard to decide what to do… Fathers day is easy, theme parks are open. But Christmas? When I haven’t been do Disney in about 4 years, so I have nothing Goofy? And there’s no new Rock Band/Guitar Hero game to get? Yeah… I’m at a complete loss this year.

Why is present buying stressful?????????

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sue
    Oct 06, 2011 @ 09:42:44

    For many years we have solved the “what do I get for him or her” problem in our family by making lists. Each person makes a list of about ten or twenty items, not too expensive, that he or she would like to have. (A specific book or CD, for example) We then pick from the list, e-mailing the others to let them know to cross off that item, so it won’t be duplicated. That way everyone gets something he/she wants, but really doesn’t know what they’re getting. Now the grandkids are getting old enough to make lists. They browse the toy section on Amazon to ask Mom and Dad to write their choices down for them. (This is at 5 & 6 1/2.)

    Reply

  2. Colline
    Oct 19, 2011 @ 16:10:19

    Avoid the stress by asking your family members to ‘write a letter to Santa’. Children love to do this – but why stop at children? Me – I sometimes ask and I am told – nothing! All our parents want is for us to take the time to spend the day with them – that to them is more precious than a new book/game/movie/etc. And this fits in with the spirit of Christmas, doesn’t it?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

