The Most Upsetting Thing to Happen Yet

I had one of the worst things happen to me yesterday. I had to go to the doctor’s for a physical check up (for student teaching. ick, I hate doctor offices!), and had to get on that dreaded scale they have there.

It said I was somewhere between 212 and 215.

26 pounds heavier than what my scale at home says.

TWENTY SIX. In other words, that scale says I haven’t done a single thing with myself at all.

How unmotivational. I wanted to burst into tears the second I saw it.

And when the doctor was asking me about my wellness, she went, “So tell me… how is your exercise? Do you go for walks when you get a chance?”

Blink. Blink.

“Oh, let me tell you it all! haha! I walk the dogs with my mom almost every morning, and I go to the gym about three, sometimes four, times a week. We start with a cardio warm-up, do a 40 minute weight training set – focusing on different parts of the body each day we’re there, and then we do a 20 minute cardio exercise. I’m also outside running a lot, about 4-5 times a week, because I’m doing the c25k program and training to run 10 miles in September.”

“Oh. Well… that’s fantastic.”

I think I shocked her. Though, not as much as when I told her I weigh 26 pounds less at home than I do here (and have worked very hard for those 26 pounds).

But yet… I still want to burst into tears because of what that stinking scale said. And I think its because I’m the person who sees the change less in myself. I feel like I haven’t lost anything, even though the scale says -26 and the inches say -21 so far.

This is what one of my Game On! teammates sent me just now about this (I emailed them about it right before I started this post, because I’m so upset…. I need to text Dan about it, he’ll curse the scale out and make me feel better lol): “Do NOT let that get you down!  I never ever look at the scale when I go to the Doctor!  I swear they do it to make us feel badly! All scales are different, and I just use mine for consistency!  Keep up the good work, and we have just have a few days left!”

It was so upsetting to see though… but I guess I just need to use it as fuel for my next few weeks of running. And I’m gonna need it… I start week 4 of the c25k program tonight after work. HALFWAY THROUGH!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. runningthriver
    Feb 03, 2012 @ 16:30:30

    UGH!!!! I hate hearing about women defeated by the scale! Screw the scale! You said yourself that you lost INCHES. You are building muscle, and it weighs more than fat. Don’t get caught up in the numbers. How are your clothes fitting? getting loose? I weigh MORE now than I did pre-marathon and boot camp, because I’m stronger. Guess what? I’m also thinner. Keep your chin up and keep working hard.

    Reply

  2. thewondermya
    Feb 04, 2012 @ 06:26:32

    Ditch the scales ! To the rubbish bin !

    Reply

  3. Jorden Whiffin (@MrsWhiffin)
    Feb 05, 2012 @ 14:24:58

    Screw the scales, you have done so well. Don’t let it get you down, and just keep on going!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

