Numbers

According to WordPress, this is my 104th update (wow), and I’ve had 127 comments made around the blog.

Numbers never cease to amaze me.

Like, for instance, I am currently 2 lbs away from being at the weight I was before I went to Disney (aka, 30 lbs down), which is also roughly 32 lbs away from where I want to be to be healthy.

Though, those numbers aren’t as important to me anymore. You may remember 2 posts ago where the doctor’s scale said that I was back at 212, which is almost 30 pounds ago? Well, I stopped caring about that a few days after it happened.

Here’s a number that is much more important to me now…. Sunday, at the gym, I ran 17 out of 20 minutes on the treadmill. 17. I lowered the mph I was trying to run at from between 5.2-6.0 to a mere 4.1 (a 14:37 mile, which is still under what runDisney wants for their races), started myself off by running for 5.5 minutes and then walked until it said 7.5 (I told myself I didn’t want to wear myself out since it was the beginning of a Sunday workout session – which can sometimes take up to around 2 hours at the gym).

I told myself I would run until around 12 minutes, and then walk a little again. I ran up to the 19 minute point, and walked the last for a cool down.

Then, last night, we were doing interval training on the treadmill with increasing inclines (had the incline up to a 10.0….. ouch). During that 30 minutes, I went 1.70 miles (mostly from just walking actually because of developing cramps that attacked while on there), and Lorie was up to 1.80 miles. Our longest distance on the treadmill to date.

It’s interesting to think about how my numbers focused has switched from that dreaded number on the scale (which can make or break your day) to running distance/time and to amount of weight I’m working with and reps during strength training.

Yes, I’m excited that the scale said I’m down 3lbs today, and that I’ve got a little under 2lbs to go to get back to that 30 lost… but I’m even more excited about the work I’ve done on the treadmill these past couple of days, and that I pushed myself to do 3 sets of 15 reps on the bench press, even though I was struggling.

Instead of using that number on the scale to be my motivation, I’m using my fitness level and trying to increase what I can do by just a little every time I get a chance to. That scale number will lower on it’s own. 🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. wartica
    Feb 28, 2012 @ 10:27:49

    Good job losing the weight:) I know it’s not the easiest thing to accomplish , but you keep going strong ! Great post and I look forward to sharing more 🙂

    Reply

  2. thewondermya
    Feb 29, 2012 @ 00:48:16

    I love your mindset on numbers, very inspiring !

    Reply

  3. Exercises To Get Lean
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 21:44:32

    Visiting a garden is a great way to get 30 minutes (more in a parkland garden if you want it) of gentle exercise in inspiring surroundings

    Reply

Leave a Reply

