relax

Currently, I’m laying in bed because a fever of 101.5 this morning, and a massive 48-hour migraine, has caused me to do so.

But, yesterday I still went to the gym migraine and all. Because headaches are not an excuse, even when they threaten to throw you off of the side of a treadmill (that wasn’t fun).

The tough part is that people say nothing is an excuse… I beg to differ. Originally, I was hoping to get a run in today between work and school. But since I didn’t go to work today, I’m not planning on running either. Why? My body’s yelling at me, telling me it needs the break. It needs to relax.

Between school, work, training, and attempting to have a life, I haven’t been sleeping well and have been stressing over everything around me. To the point it’s made me sick.

So, I’m letting my body do the talking for once and just enjoying a day in bed… or sitting outside reading, which is where I’m thinking of heading next (if my migraine lets me look at the pages).

But, moral of this post today: Listen to your body. While it’s good to push yourself, don’t go overboard. You will most likely end up sick, or hurt, or something along those lines.

And that’s just as unhealthy as being overweight.

 

 

“So-called ‘junk miles’–those slow miles done on easy days or during warmups–do count. They burn calories as effectively as fast miles; it just takes longer. Regardless of pace, each mile you run burns about 100 calories.” –Hal Higdon

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jess
    Mar 19, 2012 @ 21:57:19

    100% agree! Feel better twin! ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

