The Mouse House

Hey guys remember me? Disney obsessed, ran two Disney races, attempting to lose weight in the process of life?

This girl? :

 

I know, I’m terrible at this whole updating business… As much as I try, it’s just hard to update a blog when you really don’t touch your laptop that often. There’s a lot that’s been going on the past few months, some of which I vaguely touched on the last post with saying “Oh hey, I work for Disney and ran a half marathon on my 24th birthday,” and some I completely left out like “Hey, so Dan and I broke up on mutual terms and are still best buds and now I have an amazing boyfriend in Florida who makes me the happiest… and I’m not only working for Disney on the college program but moving here and staying when it’s done and am doing ANOTHER half marathon this year in November.”

See? Updates need to happen more often.

 

But… I had a friend earlier who asked if I had blogged about any of my work experience at Disney, and said that she would definitely read it. And I got to thinking… huh, maybe I should do that. Bring the ole blog back to life again. You know, start writing more.

(who knows, maybe it’ll start me running again more and help with that aspect)

 

Which is what leads to this current post I’m writing right now.

I’ve been in Florida for 5 months already, and have only gone back to Delaware for two days since I moved down at the beginning of January. I was ready to come back here the second my plane landed in Philly actually. And, in all honesty, these past five months I have never been happier than I am now. Working for the Mouse has always been a huge dream of mine, since the really young age of four… but the reality of it has proved to be so much more than I ever hoped it could be. I’ve gotten to work at a lot of different locations, worn a bunch of costumes (some not so flattering – I mean, seriously? I looked like a fat, blue baby in one), and most importantly met some of the most amazing people ever.

Some of those people were pretty interesting too…..

 

 

 

 

 

So I’m going to be updating a bit more about what it’s like to work at Disney and everything like that….

 

For tonight, a bit about where I work.

I work in what’s called Zone 1 Number 1 in Downtown Disney – namely: Team Mickey, Tren-D, Disney’s Pin Traders, Marketplace Stroller and Wheelchair Rental, and a Bridgecart down by Fulton’s Crab House. Lots and lots of places. I’m also currently working Star Wars Weekends at Hollywood Studios, but that can be a different post for a different day.

I have three costumes I wear between the five places:

  

 

And I have had the chance to meet the best group of coworkers Disney could have given me for the perfect College Program (Note about this next picture, most of those featured have already gone home which is depressing… but the picture is from February, so it’s now 4 months old)….

 

I also get to spend my days off inside the parks playing and enjoying myself to no end – and I do just that on multiple occasions.

And, as much as I would love to go into even MORE detail about how wonderful my life is here and give you stories upon stories about what I do (though a lot would have to do with Ewoks at the moment due to SWW taking over my brain)… it is currently 2:30 in the morning, I worked a 12.5 hour shift yesterday/today, and am in the midst of a 60 hour work week while having not slept since Saturday night. So you shall just have to deal with what has been written for now. 🙂

 

Until next time, which will be in the next few days at the latest, ciao lovelies!
~C

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jess
    Jun 04, 2013 @ 06:41:08

    Hey! You started this again! Yay! It was a really really good post! If only i could get into Disney…..soon my time will come soon lol

    Reply

  2. Melissa
    Jun 04, 2013 @ 10:41:23

    Hey Courtney,
    This is great! Thanks for doing this — and at the end of a 12 1/2 hour day! When you’re NOT working 60 hour weeks, do they have any programs for employees that you take advantage of? Like career stuff? Or maybe fitness? Or maybe just fun 🙂 M.

    Reply

  3. Kenzie
    Jun 04, 2013 @ 14:07:28

    YAY – I will follow this along, ma chérie! I’ll be starting one for China soon, likely, so we can have some mutual adventures!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

